Wednesday, March 2, 2011

If You Tweet...Read This

A new Twitter scam is making the rounds, spreading through accounts of unsuspecting users who have been duped into clicking on a link that claims to reveal how many hours they’ve spent on Twitter. 

The scam spreads through a message that reads “I have spent 11.6 hours on Twitter. How much have you? Find out here.”
The message is followed by a link that takes the user to a page that will attempt to connect an application called “Time on Tweeter,” which, if installed, will spread the message further through the users’ Twitter account without their consent.



Similar to many other Twitter and Facebook scams we’ve seen, this latest one shows how important it is to make sure you can trust an application before you give it access to your Twitter or Facebook account.

If you’ve fallen victim to this or similar scams, you should immediately revoke Twitter access to all suspicious applications. To do that, log into Twitter, click on “Settings” in the upper-right drop-down menu, choose “Connections” and click “Revoke Access” on suspicious apps — which, in this case, is the app named “Time on Tweeter.”

3 comments:

  1. Thanks for sharing! I'll be careful of my clicks.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks - I hadn't heard about this one!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks for sharing this, I hadn't heard about it yet and will be on the lookout now.

    ReplyDelete

Follow Finding Charm on Twitter

Related Posts with Thumbnails